Bad yoga day

I was in two minds about going along to my yoga class last week. My phased return to work is proving much more tiring than I’d anticipated and on top of that I hadn’t slept well the night before. I was very tempted to sit on the sofa eating biscuits and drinking tea.  Usually when I’m feeling tired or fed up a spot of yoga is just the thing to cheer me up. When I’m finished I feel much brighter and energised. That was enough to motivate myself to get there.

I arrived late to the class and missed my usual pre-class relaxation which is never a good start. I really relish my pre-class relaxation but sometimes I forget how important it is to calm down from the stresses of the day and get my head in the right place. My late start set the tone for the class and I very quickly realised that I was in for a bad yoga day. I’m hopeful that everyone has a bad yoga day from time to time… Suddenly it’s impossible to balance, remember a sequence, transition with anything approaching grace or indeed get your body to do anything very useful at all.

It’s all in the mind of course. There are so many things I have to learn about yoga. Somewhere along my journey I hope that I will learn how to switch off my busy mind no matter how tired and stressed I may feel.

Leave a Reply

