Cheapskate scarf – free pattern

A couple of years ago I made this plaited scarf. It’s based on a very pretty scarf I saw in a shop. I liked the scarf  but it was both acrylic and expensive so I decided to embrace all things recession and take apart a scarf I’d made (but didn’t really like) and fashion it into a bit of a copy. I imagine I looked very suspect as I keep going in to the shop to look at the same scarf and counting the stitches…….

Should you want to make one yourself the pattern is below.

Materials
3 balls Rowan Little Big Wool
9mm needles

Pattern
The scarf is made up of 3 knitted strips platted together and it’s really simple!

Strip 1
Cast on 7 stiches (whichever cast on method you prefer- it doesn’t matter)
R1: [K1,P1]x3, K1
R2: [P1, K1]x3P1
Repeat these 2 rows until the knitted strip is as long as you would like your scarf to be. I made mine around 104 inches.
Place the stitches on a holder or scrap yarn

Strip 2 and strip 3
Repeat process for Strip 1.

Finishing up
Using a 4 needle bind off to cast off the live stitches at the bottom of all 3 of your strips of knitting. Plait your strips together as tightly or as loosely as you’d like.
Sew together the 3 ends.
Block.
Admire your new scarf!

18 thoughts on “Cheapskate scarf – free pattern

  1. Really like the look (and colors) or your scarf! Thank you for sharing this idea.

    Can’t figure out what a 4 needle bind off is, though. Any links or clues? 🙂

  2. I really like this… but I look at the pictures and do not see any ribbing. Yet the pattern indicates the strips would be ripped. Is that correct? Or am I missing something?Thanks!

    • Thank you!
      The strips are ripped but you can’t see it in the picture. It’s 1×1 ribbing so the knit stitches are more prominent. I made them ribbed as it makes the fabric a bit thicker and stops the edges from curling under.

      Hope that helps!

  3. Thank you for this pattern. I have tried several times to make something similar but gave up ! If I copied your pattern would I be permitted to sell the article.

  4. You could use the Embellish-knit machine, which sells at joanns, and works pretty well on lighter weight yarn, to create the 3 strips.

Leave a Reply

