Cozy red jumper

My Scandinavian Sweater with Textured Star Pattern on Yoke by Hjertegarn is finished!

As you can see it’s huge!  If it was a couple of inches longer it could be a dress. When I was knitting it I was sure that the body was coming up small so I adding on about 10cm. Clearly I could have trusted the pattern! Even though its not what I had in mind when I started I really like the extra length. It feels big and warm and cozy and it’s perfect for a frosty day like today. As it doesn’t have any shaping it’s slouchy while I really like. Lots of room for winter comfort eating!

Compared to what I usually wear it's very bright. I'm getting used to it and it's quite cheering on a grey day.

As you can see from the picture the pattern is very subtle. It’s a star pattern in purl stitches. The subtle pattern was a little annoying to knit as it was difficult to see the pattern forming and I had to pay much more attention to the chart than I normally would. On the plus side in a subtle pattern it’s easy to hide mistakes.  I like the finished effect although if I was doing it again I would work the star pattern in a different colour.

I'm not sure what that white thing is on my sleeve....I think it might be a blob of moisturizer on my mirror

The wool was scratchy when I was knitting with it but actually it’s fine to wear. Less itchy than some of the other wool jumpers I’ve made. I was a bit naughty and put it through the washing machine on a cold wash and it’s come out just fine.

Overall I made the following modifications:

  • increased the body to 47cm (up to arm hole)
  • increased sleeves to 50 cm (I like my sleeves long)
  • final 4 decreases along raglan rather than on body
  • I stopped decreasing at 108 stitches and started the rib (I don’t like necklines too high).

I’ve always been a little bit slapdash about weaving in my ends in the past but on this project I knew that it would really show up so I decided to do it properly. I found an article in Knitty which explained it really clearly and it’s given me a lovely clean finish and you can’t see it at all at the front.

All in all I’m very pleased. In fact I’m wearing it right now!

2 thoughts on “Cozy red jumper

  1. I am almost finished my sweater and have knit an extra ball into the body length .I found the snowflake quite cruel to knit .After two attempts I have done it .Hopefully it will look more like snowflakes once ironed .I am keen to knit .another circular but certainly not from this pattern.Snow i forecast for tomorrow so I shall finish and wear my “dodgy snowflakes” with pride.

    • I am sure that the finished jumper will look lovely! On mine the snowflakes looked much better after I’d blocked it. If you’d like another circular jumper pattern I’d recommend owls by Kate Davies. The jumper is very flattering and it’s really simple.

Leave a Reply

