Olive green cable jumper

I’ve finally got around to making a jumper for my boyfriend. He picked the pattern himself and I think he’s made a very good choice! He’s opted for 135-36 Jumper for men with textured pattern in Karisma by DROPS design. It’s a free pattern and although it hasn’t been that popular on Ravelry I think it’s really nice.

I’ve used Garnstudio DROPS Karisma Superwash as the pattern suggests. This is the first time I’ve used this wool and I really like it. It’s reasonably cheap, feels very and nice and will go in the washing machine so it’s perfect. I think I’ll use it again. I wasn’t sure about the colour at first but it’s growing on me.

 

I’m always a little nervous when making things for other people so I’ve been putting it off a little bit. I love knitting things for people but I really worry when I’m knitting about getting everything perfect. It’s one thing for me to wear a jumper or cardy with a few accidental modifications but I wouldn’t want to force that on someone else. After all if someone has taken the time to hand knit you something you’re going to have to wear it at least a little bit…

So, because I want it to be as near perfect as I can get I’m finding myself taking much more care not to go wrong and when I do go wrong I’ve actually been going back and fixing it rather than just leaving it or sort of bodging it like I normally do. The pattern is repetitive with a few knit and purl stitches and a couple of cables every 12 rows or so. For some reason the more simple a pattern is the more likely I am to go wrong. I guess that as it’s so simple I’m not concentrating that much and so making little errors here and there. There’s been more ripping out than I’d like with this pattern!

Leave a Reply

