Should you give up on a sewing project?

urgh this is not my finest work (or my finest photo)!

Several months ago I started to make the Colette Ginger Skirt. I like the style of the skirt and it looked to me like it would be flattering for a pear shaped girl like myself and also go with most things. I was also keen to try another Colette pattern as I really enjoyed making the Sorbetto.

I was very excited when I started. I got myself some lovely grey fabric and made a start at cutting it out. All was going well while I was sewing the seams and the waist band. Then came the zip….. I was very frightened of the invisible zip so I put the skirt back in the sewing pile until I worked up the courage.

This weekend I finally got started again. I put in a passable zip (thanks to this Colette tutorial). Technically the zip isn’t quite as ‘invisible’ as I might have liked but it’s in the skirt and looks alright so I gave myself a pat on the back and carried on.

When I tried the skirt on problems became apparent. There are several:

a) The fabric isn’t the best choice. It drapes nicely but it’s a little too clingy on the hips. My hips are not my best area so this is a very bad thing.

b) The waist band isn’t level all the way around. I’m not entirely sure how I’ve done that…

c) The waist band is too big. I have smaller waist than my hips so I should have anticipated that this would be a problem.

d) My under stitching is too far away from the seam making the top of the skirt bulky and emphasising the fact that it is too big.

one side of the waist band is bigger than the other.....

I am feeling very grumpy about the whole thing as I suspect that most of the above problems aren’t fixable at this late stage (and with my limited sewing skills). I can’t help but think that there’s no point in finishing a skirt that I can never wear so I may have to abandon the whole thing. I hate giving up on project as it feels like a waste of time and money but I can’t imagine that I will drum up the enthusiasm and time to work on something I won’t wear.

I am doing my best to cheer myself up about the whole thing by focusing on the new skills I have learnt. I’ve  (almost) figured invisible zips, attached a waist band and worked out how to make interfacing work.

That’s not really helping to cheer me up about it so here is a cute picture of Coco instead:

Coco is queen of the castle

 

2 thoughts on “Should you give up on a sewing project?

  1. Maybe you could use the fabric to make something you like better =D Unfortunately, I have given up on way to many projects before.

Leave a Reply

