Emelie is a very pretty cardigan……just not for me

My Emelie by Elin Berglund is finished. It’s very pretty. I like the colour and the wool is soft. However, I’m not sure if I’m going to wear it:

  • It’s a little tighter than I normally like my cardigans and I don’t think it’s entirely flattering  when it’s buttoned up. There certainly no room for eating lots of cake.. (this isn’t helped by the fact that I accidentally put in an extra decrease at the waist making it even smaller…)
  • I’ve tried in on with various items of clothing and it just doesn’t go with anything.
  • It’s an odd length; neither cropped or long just kind of ‘meh’.
  • The neckline is a bit too high.

Looking again at the finished projects on Ravelry, most of the above was already pretty clear from the pictures, I’m not entirely sure now why I didn’t make it a) cropped or b) bigger. It’s not that I don’t like it in general-it would look awesome on  someone else -I just don’t like it for me.

It took me a little bit longer to finish off than normal as I had to make a few little modifications. I couldn’t make the suggested button-hole technique look nice how every many time I tried it so I ended up undoing that and going for a classic ‘yarn over knit two together’ approach. I think that looks fine though.

I also had to fiddle about a bit with the sleeves to make it look neat. Both sleeves were looking very messy from picking up the stitches. I’ve done sleeves like that a few times before and its worked fine but this time it looked awful! There were huge gaps. I’m not sure if it’s the cash-cotton which is unforgiving (I do love the way that tweedy and fluffy wools hide your mistakes) or if it was the proportion of stitches picked up in relation to the size of the arm hole. I had a lot of trouble getting the right number as the ‘two stitches for every three’ suggested didn’t come up with the right number. Once I’d finished the cardigan and blocking hadn’t worked any miracles I tried to fix it from the back but that didn’t want to work so I ended up sewing it up from the front. Of course that kind of negated picking up the stitches in the first place. At least it looks neat now!

I’m going to put this cardigan away for a little while and see if it grows on me. If not I think I’ll see any of my friends want it. It makes me a bit sad to make things which never get worn so I’d much rather it went to a good home than gathered dust in my wardrobe.

3 thoughts on “Emelie is a very pretty cardigan……just not for me

  1. Looks gorgeous! Don’t put it away, though. Wear it, even with things it doesn’t go with, just to get a feel for it… you might get some outfit ideas once you know how it looks and feels with just a couple of buttons done up, or none at all. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Super cute jumper for a super cute little person | lizzylikescake

Leave a Reply

