Second time lucky

After a slight disaster trying to make Idlewood by Cecily Glowik MacDonald I’ve started a new project with the unraveled wool.  I really like the wool and I didn’t want to feel like I’d wasted my money on it so I wanted to start making something else with it straight away.  I found various lovely things (including Aidez by Cirilia Rose and Beatnik by Norah Gaughan) but in the end  I opted for creature comforts cardi by Madelinetosh.

The reviews on Ravelry are a little but mixed and the wool might not be quite what the author of the pattern intended but I think it should come out pretty well. In my head it’s going to be a big relaxed cardigan which will be super snug and warm. It’s basically one big square with ribbing along the outside and you fold it up and sew the sleeves. Some people have described it as a ‘shrug’ but I don’t think that’s quite the right description because I think of shrugs as teeny-tiny small and slightly pointless cardigans, that don’t keep you warm, and this is going to be huge (see photo above).

The cable along the back looks fairly complicated in the pictures on the pattern but it’s actually really simple. It’s looking pretty good so far and it will look even better when I’ve blocked it out. The awesome thing about it being a big square is that I don’t need to worry too much about measuring things and I can just knit away. I’m enjoying knitting it looking forward to finishing it.

 

Leave a Reply

