My awesome creature comforts cardigan is finished!

I look a little bit like I am trying fly in this photo

I’ve finished my creature comforts cardi by Madelinetosh and I am very pleased! It’s been a simple and enjoyable knit with lots of stocking stitch to give my brain a rest. It was also really quick as the wool and needles were nice and chunky. I knit in 4 ply a lot so it was amazing to see it grow so quickly.

I get very cold in the winter and I am a massive fan of layering knitwear to keep me warm (I live in London which isn’t actually that cold. I’m not sure how I’d cope if I had to live somewhere that is properly chilly….) so the really awesome thing about this cardigan is that it is massive and can be thrown on over the top of whatever else I’m wearing for a bit of extra warmth.

I’ve used DROPS Nepal which was a pleasure to knit with and is super cozy and warm. It’s knitted up in a cardigan which is  really snuggly and comforting. It’s also a decent price (£2.00 a ball).

The cable looks amazing; it’s a really clever pattern. Easy to knit but very pretty.

The construction is very simple. It’s basically just a big rectangle with the cable in the middle. I was tempted to leave it as it was and have it as a blanket.

Here it is blocking out on the spare bed

To put it together you sew the short sides together leaving a hole for the arms. The final bit is to pick up stitches for the cuffs.

Here it is before I picked up the stitches for the cuffs

I’m a bit lazy about checking my gauge but I imagine if I had I would have noticed that this wool is a bit off gauge as the fabric is a little too dense for the design. Ideally this top should be really drapey so that it hangs nicely . The one I’ve made is a little chunky. I suspected that this was going to be the case as I was making it so I’m not too bothered.

The only real problem with this cardigan is that I won’t be able to wear it with any of the coats I own as it doesn’t look like it will fit underneath any of them….As this is the kind of cardigan that you snuggle up in around the house on a chilly evening I don’t think that will be too much of a problem!

My boyfriend tries to make me laugh when he’s taking pictures……Not a very flattering look!

 

 

10 thoughts on “My awesome creature comforts cardigan is finished!

Leave a Reply

