I love my boxy jumper!

I pull the most stupid faces in pictures…..I have not missed my calling as a model…

For the past few days I’ve been anxiously checking my boxy jumper as it lay drying out on the bed. It’s one of those projects that was destined to be either awesome or awful. Now it’s finally dry I can confirm that it is an amazing jumper and I love it! I love the wool, the colour and the design.

My main concern as the jumper was blocking was that the bottom was going to curl up which would have looked a little bit rubbish. Even as it was laid out on the bed it was still rebelliously trying to  curl up. As I have never got around to buying blocking pins I had to improvise and weigh it down with some of the candles that were lying around the spare room. This appears to have worked so I think I’ll try the candle trick again!

It’s taken me a little bit longer than normal as I had to keep stopping because of my hands hurting. However, the pattern was really easy to follow and it was so simple that I barely had to engage my brain at all. When I buy clothes I tend to go for simple and block colours however when I’m knitting it’s so tempting to do something fancy with loads of patterns and exciting colours. However I’ve finally figured out that these more lively creations don’t go with my stuff and don’t get worn. It’s lucky for me that I don’t mind knitting simple stuff. Maybe I’ll start making fancier stuff for other people so I don’t get too bored…

I really need to tidy our bedroom….

I’ve used Garnstudio DROPS Alpaca again as I really like it. It’s much cheaper than other brands and it knits up really nicely. The only down side is that it looks a little messy before it’s blocked out and it absolutely has to be hand washed in cold water or it will go all weird (and I’m lazy and I’ll often shove my knitted things in the washing machine on a cold cycle and hope for the best).

Drape is really important for this jumper to work well and luckily the drops drapes really well. It’s a nice open weave with on 3.25mm needles and it falls really well.

It’s slightly worrying when you are working in the round as it looks HUGE! I didn’t realise until I’d cast off the arm holes that the outer edge of the tube is part of the sleeve. For me it goes almost up to my elbow. I should really have tried it on when I was knitting the arms as ideally I’d like them a little bit longer. The length is a bit ‘meh’ on me. Neither cropped or full length. I should have thought about this before as I am a massive fan of huge long sleeves. I think that’s the only think I’d change if I make another one.

4 thoughts on “I love my boxy jumper!

  1. I always seem to read your posts about amazing cosy-looking jumpers when I am absolutely freezing! Looks great – well done! And I want one right now. Brrrrrrr.

  2. Dude this is so awesome!! I think the length looks great. It’s so trendy, looks like something that would cost £200 from Reiss. Man you always make the best things. x

Leave a Reply

