A knitted bunny!

IMG_0470

This is our bunny Coco. She’s not very sure about her new bunny friend…

A very lovely friend of mine just had a baby and I wanted to make her a present. I wanted to make something a bit different so rather than the usual booties or little cardigan I had a go at making a toy!

I found this super cute pattern on Ravelry. It’s called Maxine the rabbit and its by Janice Cyr. Her version is adorable.

Screen shot 2013-08-16 at 20.30.38

This is so much better than mine! She is a very talented lady.

My version is a little more questionable….It turns out that making knitted toys is much harder that I thought it would be. The actual knitting bit was really easy and super quick but the sewing up and stuffing was a right pain. I just couldn’t get it right….either I was over stuffing or under stuffing…… I couldn’t quite figure out how to sew the parts of the body together and then I got a bit frustrated, didn’t bother to tack anything first and made it all worse.

IMG_0468

I rather like him but I don’t think he’s good enough to give away. He is MASSIVE! He’s about twice the size of Coco so he would be far too big for a tiny child. Also his feet turn in (that’s my questionable sewing up) ,  he can’t actually stand up on his own and his head is very floppy……oh…and I’ve sewn his little face on a bit strangely.

IMG_0471

I used some Garnstudio DROPS Nepal that was left over from my creature comforts cardi and Beatnik. It took me a little while to track down stuffing. I’d planned to order something online but I couldn’t find anywhere that didn’t charge about £15.00! In the end I found it in Ultimate Craft in Stoke Newington for about £3.00 which was much more in line with what I was expecting to pay. It was a ginormous bag of stuffing though which was very tricky to shove into my bike bag to get it home!

IMG_0484

I don’t think I’ve totally given up on the idea of making a knitted toy (and not just because I now have a big bag of stuffing). Maybe I just need to save the sewing up until I feel super awake rather than after a stressful day at work.

Leave a Reply

