Ravello jumper – (yet) another lesson in checking gauge!

IMG_0871

The ribbing looks a bit messy because I didn’t quite get around to switching down to a smaller needle…..I think I can just about get away with it though!

As you may well have noticed I’m a big fan of Garnstudio DROPS Alpaca. If I had to choose it would be probably be my favourite wool to knit with because a) it’s fairly cheap b) it feels nice c) you get a lot of yardage for a ball and d) it’s splendidly fluffy (and hides your mistakes). My obsession with this particular wool is causing me a couple of problems. Firstly, I have ended up with a fairly vast selection of knitwear in exactly the same wool (sometimes the same shade of the same wool….) which is a little odd and means that if by some freakish turn of fate I don’t want wear alpaca I have very limited options. Secondly, I have ended up with numerous random balls of Garnstudio DROPS Alpaca in various shades. Not quite enough to make anything out of in any particular colour but enough to make me feel guilty when I see them sitting around…..The solution to the first problem is obviously to branch out and force myself to use some different materials and hopefully I’ll be able to share that with you in the next few weeks. The solution to the second problem? a multi coloured ravello by Isabell Kraemer! 

IMG_0771

Thankfully I had a few colours that sort of go together. You might recognise them from previous patterns? The construction was super simple and the pattern very easy to follow. It’s just a top down raglan jumper.  I don’t think I ran into one single problem with the pattern.

I got part way through one of the sleeves before realising that I probably didn’t have enough grey to finish both of the sleeves. This was a bit annoying as I think it would look much better with grey sleeves. However there’s always going to be a bit of compromise when you’re working with odds and ends of wool so I had a go with blocks of green at the bottom of the sleeves. It was looking a bit wrong when I started it but I hoped that it would look better as I got going. It didn’t….I think it’s something about the move from little stripes of green and grey to massive chunks of them that didn’t work. After starring at it for a lot time I decided to switch the green for the purple. That way it matches the block of colour at the bottom of the body and looks a little less random.

IMG_0777

I’ve finally tracked down some wooden 2.75mm needles which has made my old lady hands very happy!

I’ve been making a lot of knitwear with an open weave lately so I thought I’d use 2.75mm needles and have a firmer fabric. Given my many recent gauge based disasters you’d think that I’d make a swatch…….but I didn’t…I don’t know why….. I just started and hoped for the best! Because of that it’s come out a little small. Not so small that I can’t wear it without looking indecent but small enough that I feel a little self conscious about my recent cake intake. It also makes my arms feel rather tubby (I am going to pretend that is yoga based muscle rather than fat arms!) Because of that I haven’t worn it that much. I think it is waiting for a skinny day, or spring or a high waisted skirt……or a flash of inspiration!

IMG_0881

Look at my sad little face! I haven’t helped matters by taking a slightly blurry picture on a dark rainy day!

For some reason I decided to make it a little shorter than the pattern suggests. To be honest I don’t really remember why. Perhaps I was getting bored of the stocking stitch? In retrospect it probably would have been better longer but I’m not bothered enough to undo the ribbing and fix it.

All in all my attitude to this jumper is distinctly ‘meh’. I’m not sure about the sizing (my own fault) or indeed the busyness of all of the colours (inevitable when using up lots of wool). However I quite enjoyed making it and it was basically free so if it ends up at the charity shop or gets given to a friend I haven’t lost anything! Fingers crossed my next project with be more successful!

7 thoughts on “Ravello jumper – (yet) another lesson in checking gauge!

  1. I like it, and it looks really good on you! I know that doesn’t really help if it doesn’t feel right to you, but I thought I’d say it anyway : )

  2. I like it. And I like it on you too. Maybe you just need to wear it a bit and see if your perception changes? I’ve found that once before. I didn’t at all like a jumper and it was only after wearing it a couple of times on very different occasions that it suddenly started to grow on me. Not literally, thank goodness.
    On the other hand: lucky friend, if you decide to pass it on!

  3. I like the idea of using this extra skeins of yarn in ravello. It turned out great. It suprised me a little that you love Drops Alpaca so much – I find it a bit itchy… 😦

Leave a Reply

