It turns out colour work is not for me!

IMG_0974
I’m very into boxy shaped jumpers and cardigans at the moment so when I spied the Peace and Love sweater  I was super keen. I was slightly concerned that not many people had made it but I put that down to a limited selection of sizes and maybe the challenging colour work.

I decided that this jumper would give me a good opportunity to try out Garnstudio DROPS Merino Extra Fine which I’ve had my eye on for a while. There’s only so much alpaca a girl can knit and sometimes I need a rest from it!  I’m not normally one for copying the exact colour of the sample but this time I couldn’t resist the lovely dark grey. I love grey.  The merino was a treat to work with and is nice and soft against my skin. It’s also a bargain at £3.10 a ball! 

IMG_0993

I made the small and it’s come out a bit bigger than it should have done. This was no massive surprise as my gauge was totally off. I think the pattern was made for a smaller DK wool. Because of the arthritis in my hands I have to be careful of working with too stiff a fabric. My 3.5mm needle tension square was already pushing it a bit so I couldn’t really go any smaller. I think the final size is pretty good actually and any smaller would have been too small. For me it’s more important to enjoy the process than have perfect tension.

In case you haven’t seen it the jumper should look like this:

jumper picture  
The eagle eyed amongst you will have noticed that the original version (above) has a lovely bit of colour work going on and mine…. ummmmm…..doesn’t. I tried, I really did. I wound some little bobbins with wool and a had a valiant go but whatever I did it turned out rubbish, the tension was all wrong, the edges looked weird and all in all it just wasn’t quite good enough. It was so disastrously bad I couldn’t bring myself to take a picture of any of the attempts.

Proof I tried to do the colour work!

Proof I tried to do the colour work! I cut out some little bobbins and everything!

After I admitted defeat with the colour work I thought I would be all clever and replace the colour stitches with a purl. This was looking great and I’d completed almost all of the pattern before I realised that I’d managed to do it off centre. Ahhhhhhhhhhh! It was about the 5th time I’d had to start again and I can’t bring myself to rub out the marking on my pattern and start  yet another time so I decided that fate wanted me to have a plain jumper. I prefer plain jumpers anyway.

IMG_0972

This is the first jumper I’ve made for ages that needs to be seamed. I’d forgotten how tedious it can be! It took hours and was very dull. I’m not 100% sure that the sleeves are set in as well as they could be  (I’d prefer them to sit a little bit flatter) but otherwise I’m pleased.

The sleeve length indicated that the pattern was a little shorter than I prefer. I planned to make them just a little bit longer but accidentally made them huuuuuuuge. As I was sewing them up I was very worried indeed. However, now that it’s finished I am loving the long sleeves. They are ideal for the winter and keep my poor hands warm, like built in hand warmers!

I’m very happy with the jumper and have been wearing it loads now that the weather has turned cold. I love the colour and the fabric and the shape is great, perfect!

Leave a Reply

